6 - 17 November 2017  

     Government of the Republic of Fiji

  Ministry of Foreign Affairs

    A Better Fiji through Excellence in Foreign Service


Media Release

19th ASEAN Regional Forum Welcomes Steps Taken By Fiji Towards Election

19th_ASEAN_Regional_forum_welcomes_steps_taken_towards_election30th July 2012: The Nineteenth Meeting of the ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF), held in Phnom Penh, Cambodia on 12 July 2012, and chaired by His Excellency HOR Namhong Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Kingdom of Cambodia, Chair of ASEAN Foreign Ministers Meeting has welcomed the recent steps taken by Fiji towards holding elections in 2014.

The ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF) is a key forum for security dialogue in Asia. It draws together 27 countries which have a bearing on the security of the Asia Pacific region. The ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF) was established in 1994. It comprises 27 countries: the 10 ASEAN member states1,  the 10 ASEAN dialogue partners2,  one ASEAN observer (PNG) as well as the DPRK, Mongolia, Pakistan, East Timor, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. The ARF is a key forum for security dialogue in Asia, complementing the various bilateral alliances and dialogues. It provides a setting in which members can discuss current regional security issues and develop cooperative measures to enhance peace and security in the region.

In their recent meeting in Phnom Penh,“the Ministers welcomed the recent steps taken by Fiji towards holding elections in 2014 and urged continued engagement between Fiji and the Pacific Island Forum, the Commonwealth and the UN.”

Fiji’s Representative to ASEAN is Ratu Seremaia Tui Cavuilati our Ambassador to Indonesia. Ambassador Cavuilati had on June 26 this year presented his Letter of Credence to Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Secretary General Surin Pitsuwan. During their meeting the Secretary General had welcomed the significant developments so far made in Fiji towards parliamentary democracy in 2014. He encouraged the Ambassador to engage and to use the Secretariat’s services and associations to forge closer ties with ASEAN’s membership and project Fiji’s aspirations. END.

(Photo caption: AMB Cavuilati presenting his credentials to ASEAN SG Surin Pitsuwan)

1Brunei, Burma, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam

2Australia, Canada, China, the EU, India, Japan, New Zealand, ROK, Russia and the United States